MEDIA RELEASE - AFTRS Council re-appointments > Mitch Fifield, Liberal Senator for Victoria


Click here to email me

Electorate Office
42 Florence Street

Phone: 03 9584 2455
Phone Toll Free
(Vic only): 1300 797 110

Parliament House Office
Parliament House
Phone: 02 6277 7480

Media Releases

Senator The Hon Mitch Fifield

MEDIA RELEASE - AFTRS Council re-appointments

21 March 2016


The Australian Government has re-appointed Professor Julianne Schultz AM FAHA as Chair of the Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS) Council for a period of one year, and Professor Robyn Ewing AM as a member of the Council for two years.

Professor Schultz and Professor Ewing have contributed extensive expertise to the work of the Council during their first terms overseeing significant achievements by the AFTRS including the redesign of the AFTRS Award courses and the expansion of the AFTRS Open program.


Professor Schultz brings considerable governance experience to the role of Chair. She is the founding editor of the Griffith Review and has served on the boards of the ABC, the Grattan Institute and the Copyright Agency, and was formerly Chair of the Queensland Design Council.


Professor Ewing is a valuable member of the Council with a background specialising in education and learning. She is Professor of Teacher Education and the Arts, University of Sydney and was previously Associate Dean, Academic Programs and Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning.


AFTRS provides advanced education and training to develop the skills and knowledge of talented individuals to meet the evolving needs of Australia’s screen and broadcast industries.

More information about AFTRS is available at