Old Parliament House Board reappointments > Mitch Fifield, Liberal Senator for Victoria


Click here to email me

Electorate Office
42 Florence Street

Phone: 03 9584 2455
Phone Toll Free
(Vic only): 1300 797 110

Parliament House Office
Parliament House
Phone: 02 6277 7480

Media Releases

Senator The Hon Mitch Fifield

Old Parliament House Board reappointments

13 December 2016

The Turnbull Government has reappointed the Hon Dr David Kemp as Chair, Mr Bernard Wright AO as Deputy Chair and the Hon Simon Crean as a member of the Old Parliament House Board for further three year terms.

Dr Kemp was a Minister in the Howard Government for eight years during a 14 year career in Parliament. Dr Kemp served for more than two years as Old Parliament House Advisory Council Chair before its transition to a governing board in July 2016 and will continue to provide a strong guiding role for the Board.

Mr Wright’s experience in governance and Australian democracy is invaluable to the position of Deputy Chair. Mr Wright had a long career in the Australian Parliament over four decades, including working at Old Parliament House. Mr Wright was also the Clerk of the House of Representatives between 2009 and 2013.

Mr Crean was leader of the Australian Labor Party and held a range of ministerial portfolios over a 23 year parliamentary career. Mr Crean will continue to provide expertise in government procedures and education.

The reappointed Board members will continue to work closely with the Old Parliament House staff to support the exhibitions, education programs and the Museum of Australian Democracy.

For more information about Old Parliament House visit www.moadoph.gov.au.