Entries open for Prime Minister's Literary Awards > Mitch Fifield, Liberal Senator for Victoria


Click here to email me

Electorate Office
42 Florence Street

Phone: 03 9584 2455
Phone Toll Free
(Vic only): 1300 797 110

Parliament House Office
Parliament House
Phone: 02 6277 7480

Media Releases

Senator The Hon Mitch Fifield

Entries open for Prime Minister's Literary Awards

Entries are now open for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards which celebrate great Australian literature.

The Turnbull Government is proud to support the literary arts and these awards recognise outstanding contemporary Australian literature and history. Our authors, poets, illustrators and historians foster our culture and help to form our national identity.

The Awards acknowledge writing talent across six categories: fiction, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction and children’s fiction. The Australian history category is open to a range of media including journals, magazines, film, radio and online content.

Expert judges will assess the entries and make recommendations to the Prime Minister. The winner of each category will be awarded $80,000 in prize money and shortlisted authors will receive $5,000 in prize money.

Australian authors, publishers and producers are invited to enter the Awards which will close on Friday 2 June.

Entries must have been published, produced or broadcast between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2016.  Entry forms and eligibility guidelines are available at: www.arts.gov.au/pm-literary-awards