Joint Release with Minister for Finance - Australia Post Managing Director > Mitch Fifield, Liberal Senator for Victoria


Click here to email me

Electorate Office
42 Florence Street

Phone: 03 9584 2455
Phone Toll Free
(Vic only): 1300 797 110

Parliament House Office
Parliament House
Phone: 02 6277 7480

Media Releases

Senator The Hon Mitch Fifield

Joint Release with Minister for Finance - Australia Post Managing Director

27 June 2017

The Turnbull Government welcomes the appointment of Ms Christine Holgate as the new Managing Director and Group Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Australia Post.

Ms Holgate is a highly experienced chief executive, board director and business leader, with a strong record of managing and leading large and complex organisations. She has been CEO of Blackmores, a world leading Australian manufacturer and distributor of health products, since 2008. Ms Holgate also has extensive experience working closely with governments in regulated sectors including finance, telecommunications, media and healthcare. In 2015, she was named CEO of the Year by the CEO Institute.

Ms Holgate will commence in the role in October 2017. Ms Christine Corbett, currently the Group Chief Customer Officer of Australia Post, will act as interim Managing Director from the departure of Mr Ahmed Fahour AO on 28 July 2017 until Ms Holgate takes up her new position.

Following direction by Government in February 2017, the remuneration of the Managing Director and Group CEO is now subject to oversight by the Remuneration Tribunal, an independent statutory authority. Consistent with the parameters set by the Remuneration Tribunal, the Australia Post board has agreed to a total remuneration of $1.375 million and performance pay of up to $1.375 million per annum.

The Ministers congratulate Ms Holgate and Ms Corbett on their appointments, and wish them well for steering Australia Post through a critical period for the business.

The Ministers also thank Mr Fahour, who steps down as Managing Director and Group CEO on 28 July 2017, for his leadership and oversight in guiding Australia Post since 2010.