Reappointment of National Gallery of Australia Director > Mitch Fifield, Liberal Senator for Victoria


Click here to email me

Electorate Office
42 Florence Street

Phone: 03 9584 2455
Phone Toll Free
(Vic only): 1300 797 110

Parliament House Office
Parliament House
Phone: 02 6277 7480

Media Releases

Senator The Hon Mitch Fifield

Reappointment of National Gallery of Australia Director

21 September 2017

The Turnbull Government welcomes the reappointment of Dr Gerard Vaughan AM as Director of the National Gallery of Australia (NGA). 

Dr Vaughan, a distinguished public gallery director and internationally recognised scholar, was first appointed to the role in 2014. His leadership, professional experience and diplomacy have delivered strong outcomes for the NGA, including renewed public access to the Gallery’s collections and prominence to the Australian Collections, a continued program of major international exhibitions and partnerships, and a robust program of provenance research.

Dr Vaughan has also explored new philanthropic avenues and fundraising practices to cultivate private and public sector support for the Gallery.

Prior to working at the NGA, Dr Vaughan was the Director of the National Gallery of Victoria and the Director of the British Museum Development Trust in London. 

Dr Vaughan is also Deputy Chair of the Australian Institute of Art History at The University of Melbourne.

Dr Vaughan’s dedication and commitment will continue to drive the Gallery’s work throughout his second term, which will end in October 2018.

The NGA holds the national art collection of Australia, including the largest display of Australian Indigenous art in the world.

For more information about the NGA visit: